NFID Award Tiffany


The National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) presents annual awards to outstanding individuals who have made significant and lasting contributions to public health through scientific achievement, philanthropy, and/or policy work. 

2020 NFID Award Recipients:
Penny M. Heaton, MD, Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award
Claire V. Broome, MD, Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement
Richard J. Whitley, MD, John P. Utz Leadership Award

NFID will present the Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award, Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement, and John P. Utz Leadership Award at a black-tie dinner on June 11, 2020 in Washington, DC.

View photos and highlights of the 2019 awards dinner

NFID Award Nominations:

The deadline (July 1, 2019) to submit 2020 nominations has now passed. Online nominations for 2021 awards will be accepted beginning in Spring 2020. 

Requirements include: 

  • Nomination letter with a detailed description of nominee accomplishments
  • Seconding letter in support of the nomination
  • Brief citation explaining how nominee accomplishments/achievements have made a contribution to public health
  • Nominee CV and biography

The awards are intended for individuals, not organizations or teams. Nominees must be living at the time of nomination and recipients must attend the awards gala to receive the award. Current members of the NFID Board of Directors are not eligible for nomination. Self-nominations will not be accepted.