John P. Utz Leadership Award

In 2007, the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) established the John P. Utz Leadership Award as a lasting memorial to the late John P. Utz, MD, a founder of NFID and a champion in the fight against infectious diseases. To honor his memory and years of dedication to the profession and to NFID, the award is presented to individuals who exemplify and support NFID leadership goals, through service to NFID and/or the field of infectious diseases, as selected by the NFID Board of Directors. Current members of the NFID Board of Directors are not eligible for nomination.


2019  Richard E. Besser, MD
2018  Anne Schuchat, MD (RADM, USPHS)
2017  Thomas M. File, Jr., MD
2016  Larry K. Pickering, MD
2015  Richard J. Duma, MD, PhD
2013  William Schaffner, MD
2012  Susan J. Rehm, MD
2011  George C. Hill, PhD
2010  Len Novick
2009  Carol J. Baker, MD
2007  Donald M. Poretz, MD