NFID Awards Dinner: May 5, 2016

The National Foundation for Infectious Diseases honored Robert E. Black, MD, MPH, Diane E. Griffin, MD, PhD, and Larry K. Pickering, MD during a black-tie ceremony honoring individuals for their outstanding achievements in humanitarian service; public education; legislative and/or administrative contributions; clinical and/or research activities; and training future leaders in the field of infectious diseases. 

View 2016 NFID Awards Dinner Program Book

The 2016 Oscars of Infectious Diseases (Blog)
Answering Complex and Difficult Questions (Diane E. Griffin, MD, PhD Blog)
Simple, Affordable, and Scalable Interventions to Improve Global Health (Robert E. Black, MD, MPH Blog)

   2016 NFID Awards Dinner Photos (Password: NFID16193)
   2016 NFID Awards Dinner Photo Booth Album (Facebook Album)

Robert E. Black Photo           

Robert E. Black, MD, MPH
2016 Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award
Robert E. Black, MD, MPH is a global public health leader who has dedicated his career to saving the lives of the worlds’ poorest children. He will be honored in recognition of his lifelong work to save and improve the lives of millions of children around the world and for his tireless efforts to train other public health leaders.

Diane Griffin 136x181  

Diane E. Griffin, MD, PhD
2016 Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement
Diane E. Griffin, MD, PhD will be honored for her work on the pathogenesis of viral infections, particularly for her studies on measles and encephalomyelitis. Her contributions to virology and infectious diseases have long been hailed by the scientific community

PICKERING 2007 Official Photo  

Larry K. Pickering, MD
2016 John P. Utz Leadership Award
Larry K. Pickering, MD will be honored for exemplifying and supporting NFID leadership goals, through service to NFID and his work in the field of infectious diseases, including years of dedicated service at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the American Academy of Pediatrics, and the Infectious Diseases Society of America.

2016 Awards Dinner Sponsors:


Merck & Co., Inc.

Pfizer Vaccine Research and Development
Raymond James
Sanofi Pasteur