NFID Award Tiffany


The National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) presents annual awards to outstanding individuals who have made significant and lasting contributions to public health through scientific achievement, philanthropy, and/or legislation. 

NFID will present the Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award, Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement, and John P. Utz Leadership Award at a black-tie dinner on Thursday, May 9, 2019 in Washington, DC. 

Join us to honor the 2019 NFID Award Recipients:
Jeremy Farrar, FRS
Wellcome Trust

Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award 
Anne A. Gershon, MD
Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons

Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement

Richard E. Besser, MD
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

John P. Utz Leadership Award 

Purchase Tickets

Hotel & Travel Information

Schedule of Events

NFID Award Nominations:

2020 award nominations will be accepted until July 1, 2019. Nominations must be submitted online.

Requirements include: 

  • Nomination letter with a detailed description of nominee accomplishments
  • Seconding letter in support of the nomination
  • Brief citation explaining how nominee accomplishments/achievements have made a contribution to public health
  • Nominee CV and biography

The awards are intended for individuals, not organizations or teams. Nominees must be living at the time of nomination and recipients must attend the awards gala to receive the award. Current members of the NFID Board of Directors are not eligible for nomination. Self-nominations will not be accepted.